All-grain separated in the fermenter

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ellicit

Reaction score
I'm pretty new to the subject but I decided to do an all-grain Belgian Wit, everything went well and as it should until it was time to pitch the yeast, I used White Labs Belgian Wit Ale yeast, gave it a shake to mix it up just prior to pitching and when I open the cap it damn near exploded, not to mention it stress fermentation after about 5 hours ran really strong for 12 then absolutely died, and the beer seemed to separate (any portion of flavor and yeast on the bottom and water on the top). Has anyone else ran into this or could tell me what happened?

Are you just talking about the trub with beer sitting on top or is there a separation of color in the actual liquid?

Unfortunately I didn't take any pictures :( but no it actually separated as in bottom half was a white trub and the top half was a pale dirty water, never seen anything like it before and can't find anything about it on the net. I'm just wondering if it was a result of bad yeast.

All that is happenning is that you are a nervous newb, and aren't realizing that you are simply seeing proteins and break material settling out into the trub, and yeast doing it's thing.

Relax, and walk away from the fermenter, the yeast know what they need to do, they're not infected, fermentation is ugly and smelly on normal days. Just stop hovering over them, and let them do their job. ;)