New to the Brew

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

talleymonster

Reaction score
Hello everybody. My name is Talley. I'm 21 and I live in Las Vegas, Nevada. I am a union carpenter. LOCAL 897. I'm new to home brewing but I am anxious to get started. Right now I am in the process of deciding what equipment to buy/make. I've got a prety decent sized garage and plenty of room, so I'm eager to set up my brewery. Then it's just a matter of deciding what to brew for my first batch. wish me luck.
-Talley

I just started in August and finally got to where I wanted to be supply wise. I haven't purchased anyone's beer in almost 2 months.

I will warn you though, my beer belly has grown a good bit since I started. All in all this is a lot of fun. And its a great sense of satisfaction when someone tries your brew and says "Hey... this is really good".

Welcome.

With the help and inspiration of the guys on here I just did my first AG today.
You'll get all the help you need.

What Quantity of brewing do you want to do?
Do you have a budget?

Well, I am still trying to put it all togehter in my head, and I am still open to suggestions. I have been doing some pricing on some different websites and the starter kits are all pretty similar. as of right now I think I will get a two stage setup, with glass carboys. I'm thinking of getting a turkey fryer with a think ss pot, or just converting a keg. i drink plenty of beer so I figure by the time I get started I could have plenty of dark bottles for bottling. I have everything I need for a kegerator, minus the keg, So i might look into kegging my brew. like I said I've got a garage and I am willing to dedicate a portion of it to operations. budget-wise, I'm a beginner, So I want to start out kinda cheap, you know?
question: