Need help with simple Rims Build

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dordelli

Reaction score
I've spent countless hours researching and am starting to buy parts for my Rims CP. I am not an electrician but do believe I have figured out the basics. My system will be pretty simple, 120vac with a 5500 watt element running at 1375 watts and one pump. I have a few questions and am hoping the experts here can help.

1) How do I know which Auber PID to buy, seems many builds use the 2352, is this the one I want?
2) Many of the builds I have seen use contactors, my element will draw only around 11 amps. If I can find 15 amp switches, can I skip contractors? Has anyone found 15 or 20 amp switches, that have some interest and are not common house switches?
3) I know I will need at least one SSR, is it really necessary to place the heat sink on the outside of the case, even for my simple system? Will I need a heat sink?
4) The enclosure I bought is plastic, how do I attach the electronics inside, can I mount a thin pc of plywood and attach my components to this board, is this unsafe.
5) Can anyone share a wiring diagram similar to my needs?

Thx in advance!!

1) How do I know which Auber PID to buy, seems many builds use the 2352, is this the one I want? Buy the 2352.

2) Many of the builds I have seen use contactors, my element will draw only around 11 amps. If I can find 15 amp switches, can I skip contractors? Has anyone found 15 or 20 amp switches, that have some interest and are not common house switches? Yes, you can use 15 amp switches.