Hoppy Pale with Cleopatra hops

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

marc1

Reaction score
I've got some Cleopatra hops to play with. I'm going to try them out making an extra hoppy pale ale:

6 gallon batch to the fermentor
OG - 1.052
FG - 1.013
IBU (Tinseth) - 55
Water - 8.1 gallons RO + 12.2g gypsum + 1.6mL 88% lactic acid
(Bru'n Water says I'm at 93ppm calcium and 222ppm Sulfate, mash pH 5.4 at room temp)

8# 2-row
1# Munich
1# Wheat malt

Mash at 152F, no sparge BIAB

0.5 oz Magnum 60 min
1 oz Cleopatra 15 min
1 oz Cleopatra 10 min
1 oz Cleopatra 5 min

2 oz Cleopatra dry hop in keg

Yeast - Wyeast 1450 Denny's Favorite
Ferment at 64F, bring it up to 68 after a few days

I've been using the brewing water primer thread for water, this is my first time using a spreadsheet to adjust. It seems like a lot of gypsum to add, but it's actually lower on sulfate than the pale ale profile suggests. How does the water look?

Water looks solid, I usually add some epsom (MgSO4) along with the gypsum, but that's ok without it. You'll likely find that the gypsum won't fully dissolve when you add it. I imagine it fully dissolves once you add the grains in.

Are you sure you need 8.1 gallons of water for a no-sparge? I usually only need 7.0 and that's with a 60 min boil.

Recipe otherwise looks good. I'm not familiar with that hop so I hope it turns out!

Thanks for the reply!
Here's my math on the water volume:
8.1 gallons in the mash
0.1 gallons per pound grain absorption leaves 7.1 gallons
1 hour boil at a little over a gallon an hour leaves 6 gallons to the fermenter
If I have a little extra wort left from squeezing the bag, I'll use it to freshen the yeast with a vitality starter